Can't Get Much Higher
Can't Get Much Higher
Mommy, Why Did You Name Me Doja Cat?
0:00
-18:24

Mommy, Why Did You Name Me Doja Cat?

Parents have gotten more experimental with naming their children in the last few decades. But how often does popular music influence those naming conventions?

A few weeks ago, I met somebody who named their newborn daughter Lennon. That’s odd, I thought to myself. Given that the name Lennon is derived from the surname of John Lennon, I assumed it would generally be used for newborn boys. I decided to download some data to find out. Lennon, it seems, used to be more popular among newborn boys. Now, it’s mostly used for newborn girls. But in order to figure this out, I had to download 150 years of naming data from the Social Security Administration. I dove into that data to see what else I could learn about how pop culture influences names.

As a reminder, this is the podcast version of the newsletter Can’t Get Much Higher. Click here to read the newsletter. It contains charts, graphs, and pictures that will color your listening. Click here to listen on Apple or Spotify. For a playlist of every new song that I’ve recommended, click here. For a playlist of every old song that I’ve recommended, click here.

0 Comments
Can't Get Much Higher
Can't Get Much Higher
The intersection of music and data